Turns my stomach


After a long time I opened the front page of the newspaper and remembered why I have stopped looking at the front page.

The violence and the extremeness of it made me want to throw up. What is it that drives people to take another life. I understand rage but to snuff away a life?!

Why are we becoming so violent? Or were we always this extreme and somehow it never turned into action? Is it as a society that we are going wrong somewhere? Or is it ‘expectations’ not getting fulfilled that leads us to such an action. Whatever it is, something is going wrong seriously and for most of us it has become a headline that we read in the paper or watch it getting sensationalised on trashy news channels.

We have become immune to violence. We read and move on. It is not happening to us or to anyone we know so why should we care. Even if we cared, what is it we can do?

I firmly believe that all of us move around with a facade that shows to the world how nice we are… but deep inside all of us, there is a monster just waiting to rear its head.

In the past perhaps we had a fear that our actions would lead to serious consequences for us. There perhaps used to be a voice of reason that helped us keep the monster firmly chained. But today, that voice of reason has been chained and the monster is on loose. The facade that we have, slips very quickly at the slightest provocation.

I think we all are bi polar and it is the other personality that is taking over. We use the facade to seduce people into doing what we want and when they don’t, hands around the neck, a battering ram, a knife, a bullet… it has become all too easy to listen to the ‘insane’ inside us.

The entire society needs a shrink for the psychological problems. Because that is what the problem really is… at a psychological level.

I have rage inside me. Whole lot of frustration. Sometimes I wonder if I will ever let the monster loose? Right now I know I will never let that happen but then… I have never felt an insane rage ever. How will I know how to react if that ever happens….

Leave a Reply

