Bazaar Of Bad Dreams


Ok so the title of the post sounds weird as hell right?

It is courtesy the new book by Stephen King I picked up last evening at Kolkata airport.

After a long time I picked up a book by him. And here is to add to the weirdness quotient further. And I would like to check with other fans of his if this is true.

I have never bought his book just because I saw it on the shelf. Sure that was the case with the first book that I bought but never after that.

I see his new book, I do go through the cover, open random pages and keep it back. There is something in my mind that needs to connect, the longing needs to happen. And when it does, I buy. Till then, they keep beckoning you… The title and the cover keeps playing in your head.. Till the mind decides that it is ready to get immersed… Some kind of deep intervention that happens and you are drawn in…

His books are like that… Word by word..page by page they pull you in.. Away from reality and yet very real… They play with your head at multiple levels…it happens to me with every book. They are not page turners like normal thrillers.. You turn the page because you turn into the protagonist..and it is your life unfolding with every page you turn…

Most of his books have pages… Hundreds of them… Because life does not get over in just one hundred pages…

I have lived through many of his books… Many of his characters.. There are times when I pull out one of his books again..to find myself…

People who have picked up his books on a whim have either found them scary or didn’t have patience to be drawn in. Well they were not meant for you then.. The darkness that engulfs you through his books, you are not ready for that darkness yet.

I don’t know how many of his fans will agree with me… But in all of his books.. The scare and the horror is just a track playing on the surface… Deep down, his books are about melancholy, a loss, a longing, unrequited love… Of course all of it was explicit and gripping in “Hearts in Atlantis” but in all the other books… You can feel it if you become the character…

His books have never scared me (and no its not because boys and men are never supposed to be scared) but they have always left me with an ache… They have taken me back in the past or connected with something in the present.. A sense of deep loss… And I have a feeling that I buy his books when at a sub conscious level am feeling that… That’s when the connect between me and the book is the strongest. I gravitate towards darkness…or its the darkness that calls me…

I think I was not ready for the “Bazaar of Bad Dreams” yet.. Because it got left behind on the aircraft… Had read only two stories… Probably in the collection there were a few that I wasn’t meant to read right now…

I have not mentioned pretty much all the books that I have read by Stephen King because this post is not about mentioning that.. This post is about what he does to you with his books…

For the people who haven’t read his books, this post will sound banal and boring… But to those who connect the way I do, they will know…

2 thoughts on “Bazaar Of Bad Dreams

  1. Your blogpost is pretty vivid, and superb pitch for one of the popular-yet-not-so-classy author. A popular read for journeys or one-shot reads with gripping storyline, and bouts of romantic dark thrills; Even if people might not have read, who can forget the epic movie ‘Shawshank redemption’ and the lurking Tim Robbins. Would surely check out Bazaar…

    1. Authors like Stephen King will never be part of ‘classy’. They write about baser instincts in humans and a darkness that no one acknowledges (we all have that). And while you mentioned Shawshank Redemption, don’t forget The Green Mile… in spite of great starcast, it was nowhere close to the book in terms of emotions that it invoked inside me.

Leave a Reply

