Ra.one Rocks!


So I think I am in a minority which believes that the movie was awesome. There are some who said *faints*… there are some who said “I don’t know you anymore”… but I don’t think I am going to bother about these comments.

Shahrukh Khan has taken the production values of Bollywood to a completely different level. He has given us a visual treat in hindi cinema that matches up to the big budget Hollywood productions at 1/3rd the investment.

I completely fail to understand people who went looking for a ‘story’ in the movie. They are the people who pan Ra.one and yet gush over the other superhero movies dished out by Hollywood. Every single Spiderman movie sucked and Superman movies too… Those who say that there was too much of emotional shit in Ra.one didn’t bat an eyelid at the maudlin content of Spiderman or even Batman. Of course Batman is completely different after Christopher Nolan took over and Heath Ledger turned being evil into an art form.

Even Avatar which had people talking about it.. had no story.. or if there was one, I missed it because I got bored and left half way. Movies like Ra.one are not about story… they are about making the two hours in the dark auditorium a spectacle unfolding on the large screen. And Ra.one does that.

I have read reviews about people saying how SRK has not been able to beat Salman Khan‘s Bodyguard and other Salman movies…. I think they are talking up a whole lot of crap. Salman Khan movies are made for the lowest common denominator (and I got nothing against that) but Ra.one is a different genre (and no I will not compare it with Robot either.. which was liked only by the Rajnikanth fanatics)…

I thoroughly enjoyed Ra.one… so did my son.. and my daughter…. Sure he has borrowed from various Hollywood movies… so what… if there is technology available and it can be used… why not.. why not use it to create your own visual treat… why intellectualize the crap out of reviews.

People like Rajiv Masand need to chill and not sound profound. Most reviewers I think anyways get paid to write good reviews and often have their own ax to grind against certain actors…

Take my word (someone who is not exactly enthralled by Bollywood productions)… go watch the movie. Don’t go looking for intense meaning… don’t go looking for acting… go.. just to watch a great superhero movie.. And if you really want to look for meaning…. check out the relationship between the kid and SRK… it is a treat…

2 thoughts on “Ra.one Rocks!

Leave a Reply

